In nursery and Reception we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their development. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

There are 3 prime areas of learning:    

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.                    

These are:       

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. When teaching and supporting your child we will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs and interests. We believe that children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking. Our exciting immersive curriculum is offered both indoors and outside. To see our curriculum in action please visit our Nursery and Reception blogs.